Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

Harbour Masters team

Senior Harbour Master 

Cathryn Spain

Has overall management of the Harbour Masters team. Cathryn leads on Port Security and Resilience and emergency management and is Chair of the Thames Port Security Authority and Thames Resilience Panel.

Marine Manager

Lydia Hutchinson

The Marine Manager works with the Harbour Masters team to oversee and manage business growth to meet targets from the Thames Vision. This role coordinates projects and development across the business to ensure all statutory provisions and operational requirements of the Port Authority are maintained.

Harbour Masters

Lyn Kindlen-Funnell

Adam Layer

The Harbour Masters provide the lead on external relations and liaison with other organisations, river works licensing, and support the Senior Harbour Master with emergency management, port security and new business and infrastructure projects.

Deputy Harbour Masters

Miles Featherstone

Darren Knight

David Allsop


The Deputy Harbour Masters are responsible for event management, including major events like the Boat Race and Great River Race, filming licences, LKE examinations, temporary river works licences including bridge inspections and minor bridge works, navigation risk assessments and passage planning, incident investigations and enforcement. They manage the harbour service middle and lower launches and the pilot cutter.

Assistant Harbour Masters

Tim MacQuillin

Adam Montgomery

The Assistant Harbour Masters provide the lead on recreational activities on the river. They have responsibility for incident investigations involving recreational vessels, management of the upper harbour service, and support the deputies with river works licensing, and management of events.

Team Support Officers

Sandra Baker

Sandra provides support to the functions and activities of Senior Harbour Master’s Team. She administers and maintains PEC applications and renewals and the Port Service Provider ID cards system and is responsible for the provision of the PLA Local Knowledge Endorsement certificates.

Charlotte Erhardt

Charlotte provides day to day administrative support to the Harbour Master’s Team, which includes the harbour launch and pilot cutter crews.