Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.
X
Back to Top

Annual Events Calendar 2021 - 2022

This calendar is a list of forecasted river events held on the tidal Thames between the Estuary and Teddington.

This is not intended to be an exhaustive list of all events on the tidal Thames, but does include major events likely to have an effect on navigation. Mariners are also advised that there may be other events of which the PLA have not been informed.

Events that require a River Closure or Local Traffic Control will be promulgated by Notices to Mariners, in addition to being displayed on this calendar

Vessels in these areas around times indicated are to proceed with caution, with special attention to their wash and should avoid obstructing the races or stopping in the area adjacent to the race course.

Latest information on the events may be obtained from the district Harbour Service Launch, call sign Thames Patrol, or from London VTS on the port working frequency.

Please note that events on the tidal Thames require Harbour Master consent - if you wish to organise an event on the river, please refer to our Event Organiser Guidance Page.

 
Show Past Events  
Show Events by Type
Sailing Sailing Rowing Rowing Paddling Paddling Swimming Swimming
Show Events by District
Upper - Teddington to Putney Middle - Putney to Crossness Lower - Crossness to Outer Limits
Date TBC Type Event Name Description Location Club (click for map) Start Time Finish Time District
Sun 18 Apr 2021   Sailing Event Jims Four Cruise to Erith Greenwich Yacht Club to
Erith
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:30   M
Wed 21 Apr 2021   Gun Salute Event Gun Salute Tower Millennium Pier 13:00 13:30 M
Sat 24 Apr 2021 TBC Rowing Event Hammersmith Amateur Regatta Chiswick Pier Canoe Club to
London Corinthian Sailing Club
12:00 19:30 U
Sat 24 Apr 2021   Sailing Event Meridian Trophy Greenwich Yacht Club Greenwich Yacht Club 10:30   M
Sat 24 Apr 2021   Sailing Event Old Man's Headbanger Greenwich Yacht Club to
Jenningtree Point
Greenwich Yacht Club 10:30   M
Thu 20 May 2021   Clay Shoot Event Clay Shoot PLA Thamesmead Tier 12:00 15:00 M
Fri 21 May 2021   Clay Shoot Event Clay Shoot PLA Thamesmead Tier 12:00 15:00 M
Sat 22 May 2021   Sailing Event Boatacs RNLI Charity Race to Stangate Creek Info

Racing Leigh Buoy to Stangate Creek

Essex Yacht Club 10:30   L
Sat 22 May 2021   Sailing Event Medway Cup Greenwich Yacht Club to
Isle of Grain
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:00   M + L
Sat 22 May 2021 TBC Rowing Event United Hospitals Bumps Syon Reach to
Chiswick Bridge
14:30 18:30 U
Sun 23 May 2021 TBC Rowing Event United Hospitals Bumps Syon Reach to
Chiswick Bridge
15:30 19:30 U
Sat 29 May 2021 TBC Rowing Event Apprentice Barge Driving Race Greenwich Pier to
Westminster Bridge
11:30 14:00 M
Mon 31 May 2021   Sailing Event Ladies Challenge Trophy Greenwich Yacht Club to
Erith
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:15   M
Wed 2 Jun 2021   Gun Salute Event Gun Salute Tower Millennium Pier 13:00 13:30 M
Sat 5 Jun 2021   Sailing Event Cruise in company Greenwich Yacht Club Greenwich Yacht Club 14:00   M
Sat 5 Jun 2021 TBC Rowing Event GB Row Challenge 2021 Tower Bridge to
Outer Limits
11:00 20:00 M + L
Sat 5 Jun 2021   Sailing Event Race to Harty Ferry Info

Racing Leigh Buoy to Harty Ferry

Leigh-on-Sea Sailing Club 10:30   L
Sun 6 Jun 2021 Cancelled Rowing Event GB Row Challenge 2021 (CANCELLED) Tower Bridge to
Outer Limits
12:00 20:00 M + L
Fri 11 Jun 2021 TBC Other Event Mayflower 400 Lower Pool to
Lambeth Bridge
TBC   M
Sat 12 Jun 2021 TBC Rowing Event Barnes and Mortlake Regatta Info

The regatta is being held with racing crews, rowing with the tide, between Kew Rail Bridge and Chiswick Road Bridge. The rules related to the restricted zone underneath Chiswick Bridge are suspended for crews involved in racing only, and only when it is safe to do so.

Kew Railway Bridge to
Chiswick Bridge
Mortlake Anglian & Alpha Boat Club TBC   U
Sat 12 Jun 2021   Gun Salute Event Gun Salute Tower Millennium Pier 13:00 13:30 M
Sun 13 Jun 2021 TBC Paddling Event London Cockleshell Endeavour Kayakathon The Ahoy Centre to
Battersea Church Drawdock
10:45 19:15 M + M
Sat 19 Jun 2021   Sailing Event Ladies Cup Greenwich Yacht Club to
St Clement's Reach
Greenwich Yacht Club 11:00   M + L
Sun 20 Jun 2021   Sailing Event Interclub Cruiser Challenge Race Info

Racing starts and finishes at Leigh Buoy, crossing Sea Reach channel

Benfleet Yacht Club 10:00   L
Fri 25 Jun 2021 TBC Rowing Event 2020 Doggett’s Coat & Badge TBC   M
Fri 25 Jun 2021   Clay Shoot Event Clay Shoot PLA Thamesmead Tier 12:00 15:00 M
Sat 26 Jun 2021 TBC Rowing Event Richmond Amateur Regatta Eel Pie Island to
Buccleuch Gardens
08:00 19:00 U
Sat 3 Jul 2021   Sailing Event Ovens Buoy Race Greenwich Yacht Club to
Ovens Buoy
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:45   M + L
Sat 3 Jul 2021   Sailing Event Race to Upnor Info

Race starts from Leigh Buoy

Island Yacht Club 09:00   L
Thu 15 Jul 2021 TBC Rowing Event Oarsome Challenge 2021 Shadwell Basin Outdoor Activities Centre to
Hammersmith Bridge
TBC   U + M
Sat 17 Jul 2021   Sailing Event Race to River Blackwater Info

Race starts from Leigh Buoy

Essex Yacht Club 06:30   L
Sat 24 Jul 2021   Sailing Event Bob Walker Cup Greenwich Yacht Club to
Cutty Sark pub
Greenwich Yacht Club 13:15   M
Sat 24 Jul 2021 TBC Rowing Event Thames Historic Barge Driving Race Greenwich Pier to
Westminster Bridge
10:00 12:30 M
Sun 29 Aug 2021   Sailing Event Westerly Challenge Greenwich Yacht Club to
Gravesend Reach
Greenwich Yacht Club 07:00   M + L
Sat 4 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event Gravesend Regatta Gravesend Reach TBC   L
Sun 5 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event Gravesend Regatta Gravesend Reach TBC   L
Wed 8 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event 2021 Doggett’s Coat & Badge TBC   M
Thu 9 Sep 2021   Clay Shoot Event Clay Shoot PLA Thamesmead Tier 12:00 15:00 M
Fri 10 Sep 2021   Clay Shoot Event Clay Shoot PLA Thamesmead Tier 12:00 15:00 M
Sun 12 Sep 2021   Sailing Event Cruise in company Greenwich Yacht Club to
Thurrock Yacht Club
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:00   M + L
Sun 12 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event Steve Faldo Dave Pope Barge Drive Info

Dave Pope barge drive Waterloo to Tower Steve Faldo barge drive Tower to Westminster

Tower Bridge to
Westminster
12:00 16:00 M + M
Tue 14 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event Oarsome Challenge The Ahoy Centre to
Putney Bridge
Shadwell Basin Outdoor Activities Centre 17:00 20:00 M + U
Sat 18 Sep 2021   Sailing Event Race to Queenborough Info

Racing Leigh Buoy to Queenborough

Benfleet Yacht Club 12:00   L
Sat 25 Sep 2021 TBC Rowing Event Great River Race Info

This event involves a river closure.

This event involves controlled navigation and a River Closure; please see separate Upper and Middle Notice to Mariners for this event.

Greenwich to
Twickenham
08:00 17:00 M + U
Sun 26 Sep 2021   Sailing Event Winston churchill Memorial Cup Greenwich Yacht Club to
St Clement's Reach
Greenwich Yacht Club 08:00   M + L
Sat 2 Oct 2021   Sailing Event Mayors Trophy Greenwich Yacht Club to
Deptford
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:15   M
Mon 4 Oct 2021   Gun Salute Event Gun Salute Tower Millennium Pier 13:00 13:30 M
Thu 21 Oct 2021 TBC Rowing Event Wingfield Sculls Kew Railway Bridge to
Dove Pier
10:00 15:00 U
Sat 23 Oct 2021   Sailing Event Royal Navy Sailing Association Trophy Greenwich Yacht Club Greenwich Yacht Club 15:00   M
Sat 13 Nov 2021   Sailing Event Winter Series 1 Greenwich Yacht Club to
Jenningtree Point
Greenwich Yacht Club 12:30   M
Mon 15 Nov 2021 TBC Gun Salute Event Gun Salute Tower Millennium Pier 13:00 13:30 M
Sat 27 Nov 2021   Sailing Event Winter Series 2 Greenwich Yacht Club to
Jenningtree Point
Greenwich Yacht Club 09:45   M
Sat 11 Dec 2021   Sailing Event Winter Series 3 Greenwich Yacht Club to
Jenningtree Point
Greenwich Yacht Club 11:00   M
Sat 12 Mar 2022 TBC Rowing Event Women's Head of the River Race Info

This event involves a river closure.

This event involves a river closure please see the separate Notice to Mariners.

Kew Railway Bridge to
Fulham Railway Bridge
11:30   U